Shades of Fifty Shades…

Okay, my sister and I went to the movie. I enjoyed it and wouldn’t mind watching it again. Unless a book is just totally butchered, I usually do enjoy movies that follow books I’ve read.

515kzV0-w+L._SL160_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-dp,TopRight,12,-18_SH30_OU01_AA160_As for a critique, most people don’t care what I say or think, but I’ll just touch on a few observations anyway. By all means, let me know what *you* think.

  1. The settings, the scenery and the cinematography were worth the price of admission.
  1. In the books, the writing itself was clunky, but I still enjoyed reading them because I thought E.L. James put forth good character studies. That was the essence of the books. I think the movie missed the mark when trying to show the self-loathing that was part of Christian’s makeup. I caught only a few snippits of dialogue that projected that. Maybe other viewers saw it more clearly than I did. In any event, it’s important to the story. Still, I’d say the movie portrayed decent character studies.
  1. The movie was not as dark as the books, but there really isn’t time in the movie to get into the BDSM part of it in depth. Leave that part out and it’s kind of a simple romance between a screwed-up rich guy and a naive girl who obvious-from-the-beginning has more strength of character than the guy.
  1. Jamie Dornan. Good-looking guy who is good at portraying intense facial expressions. Didn’t come close to the physical description of Christian in the books. He didn’t quite succeed in making me feel for him and root for him to confront his demons and become a different man. I don’t think that was due to his acting ability. I think it was more a flaw in the screenplay. The screenwriter should have given him more to work with. Or something. I read somewhere that they’re looking for a different screenwriter for the sequel. I’d love to wave my hand and say, “Pick me, pick me.”
  1. Dakota Johnson. Excellent performance all around. She WAS Anastasia Steele. Can’t get over how much she looks like her father, even down to her facial expressions.
  1. Enjoyable part of the book missing from the movie is the lengthy and clever back-and-forth between Ana and Christian via email. Of course they couldn’t put all of that in the movie or it would be 10 hours long.
  1. Nudity. More than I’ve ever seen in a regular “R” movie. I’m honestly not sure how much it contributed other than sensationalism. Showed off Dakota Johnson’s body nicely.
  1. Sex scenes. Those of you who have read my books know I’m not a prude when it comes to sex scenes, but I think they could have been done better. They were kind of dull, really. More sensational than sensual. I read somewhere that the people who are truly into BDSM think they’re laughable.

So that’s it. Now it’s out there. And after the financial success of the opening, the movie-makers are clamoring to get Book #2 out there. In one article, I read a date of March, 2016, for “Fifty Shades Darker.”

What did *you* think?

2 Comments

Filed under Books and Movies, Books and Reading

2 responses to “Shades of Fifty Shades…

  1. I won’t be going to see the movie. Just not my kind of movie. I like romantic comedies or action adventure. Nice post, though.

    Like

    • Thanks for posting, Caroline. From the beginning, I wondered how they were going to make a movie out of that book. That was part of my curiosity to see it. I doubt if it will win a basketful of awards, but with the books selling so many copies, the movie people were almost obligated to make the movie. From what I read, it’s making a ton of money. 🙂
      Anna J

      Like

Leave a Reply

