TIME TO CATCH MY BREATH…

March was a busy month, fellow bloggers. Despite my vow to be more conscious of posting regularly on this blog, I fell by the wayside. I started the month with cataract surgery on my left eye, which I wrote about. That kept me preoccupied for a week. I had the surgery on the right eye on the 25th, which kept me preoccupied for another week. The results were great. I now have 20-25 vision and I can actually see what I’m doing. I didn’t realize how blind I had gotten.

I attended the Dallas Area Romance Authors’ conference. And to prove it, here’s my picture. I really do not photograph well.  …..  First writers’ conference I’ve been to in several years. I had a great time. I love being with other authors. There’s always so much to talk about. In my everyday life, I know no one I can chat with about writing and about what’s going on in the publishing industry. DARA(2)_2013

 

I did some giveaways of THE TYCOON on GoodReads. I was surprised by how many signed up for a free copy. It’s gotten 5-star reviews on GoodReads, Amazon and AnnaJeffrey_TheTycoon_200pxBarnes & Noble all three. Those reviews on Amazon are so important to a book’s rank on that website. A high rank on Amazon translates into sales. Now that Amazon has bought GoodReads, perhaps the GoodReads reviews will show up on Amazon’s pages. I can hope.  …  If you’ve read it and if you enjoyed it, and if you have the time and inclination, I would so appreciate your posting a review on Amazon. Or on Barnes & Noble or GoodReads. If you don’t want to write something, just “Like” it or rate it.

 

I made progress on THE CATTLEMAN, which is Book #2 of the Sons of Texas trilogy. THE CATTLEMAN is Pic’s story. It’s a love triangle and it’s coming together. It’s always a good feeling when a story starts to gel in my mind.

AnnaJeffrey_SalvationTexas_800The awesome Kim Killion designed a new cover for SALVATION, TEXAS. As soon as I do some editing in it, I’ll be re-submitting it with the new cover. Meanwhile, I’m letting you look at it here. I think it’s sexy, but let me know what *you* think.  …..  She also designed a new cover for LONE STAR WOMAN, which I’ll soon be re-releasing as an Anna Jeffrey book. It was originally printed by NAL under my Sadie Callahan pen name. Let me know what you think of its cover, too. Same cute guy on both covers. Cool, huh?AnnaJeffrey_LoneStarWoman_800

 

Well, I’ve done it, fellow readers. I’ve read “Fifty Shades of Grey.” But I haven’t decided if I’m going to comment on it. I’m reluctant to post reviews of romance novels. I’ll let you know later. However, if you’ve read it and want to comment here, please feel free to do so.

Meanwhile, check out the 5-star reviews of THE TYCOON!

5 Comments

Filed under Books and Publishing

5 responses to “TIME TO CATCH MY BREATH…

  1. I wish you would say how you feel about 50 shades of grey. You know how I felt about Tycoon, but somehow from what I read about Grey I have not wanted to read it. Jean boggs

    Like

    • Hi, Jean….I’ll just say that I’m not driven to rush out and buy the next book in the series. However, I did read the whole book, which I usually don’t do if something about it doesn’t grab me. These days, with my time being so limited, I’m pickier about how I spend my reading time.

      The book is erotica, which is common knowledge, I think. There is so much sex that pretty soon it gets redundant and I found myself skipping pages. If you’ve read my books, you know I’m not put off by explicit sex, but I think there’s only so much you can do with it in the written word without being repetitious and even boring. Plus, it’s all about the hero being into BDSM. The intriguing element I found was the sometimes cryptic references to what incident or incidents made Grey the way he is in the first place. I was curious about that, but I assume the author doesn’t deal with it until Book #2 or even Book #3. While I’m curious, I don’t know if I’m *that* curious.

      Does that help? 🙂

      Anna J.

      Like

  2. Debora Urie

    Hi Anna,
    I tried reading the 50 Shades and I am the type that if you can’t get me in the 1st 4 chapters, then I will not read or buy your books. This book really was boring and if you take out all the sexual content there really isn’t anything else that keeps your attention. The people who absolute love those books can’t really be avid, dedicated book readers. If they were, they would definitely know the difference.
    Debora

    Like

    • Hi, Debora, and thanks for stopping by and posting. I did finish it, although I wonder if I would have if it hadn’t been that particular book. I agree. It’s definitely light on story. Writing isn’t great, either. The redeeming feature I saw was the characterization. I did somehow end up being sympathetic to both those characters though I had to sift and sort through all of the “flushes,” the gasps, the whispers, the knotted fingers, etc., etc. to get to the gist of the scenes. 🙂

      I don’t usually give book reviews, especially if I can’t say something positive. I can’t keep from thinking of all of the snarky things that have been said over the years about *my* books. Usually, if I’m not enjoying a book, I just stop reading it and go on to another one. Like you, if it doesn’t grab me in the first 50 pages or so, it isn’t for me.

      Like

      • Hi, Deborah… Sorry to be so long in answering your post. I didn’t realize other comments had come in on the Dixie Cash post.

        My sister and I are currently working on another Dixie Cash book that we will self-publish. And hopefully, we get the last 2 DC books on audio before long.

        Thanks for posting.

        Like

Leave a Reply

