HECTIC, HECTIC, HECTIC…

AND AN EXCERPT…

Hectic week. Up to my neck in writing. Don’t even have time for opinions.

I’m trying so hard to get THE TYCOON ready to market. I did find some beta readers, but I still haven’t settled on a copyeditor. As it turns out, that appears to be the most expensive part of this e-book project. When I start to get it put into print, I expect that, too, to be expensive.

But I do have the cover! So I have to claim progress. Since I discovered the awesome Kim Killion, the covers have become the easiest part of this.

Here’s an excerpt from the heroine’s first encounter with the hero:

“Her family’s bucks aren’t a temptation to a high-roller like Drake. He’s a lone wolf. And if she hasn’t figured that out, she’s dumber than I think.”

Lone wolf. High-roller. The words stuck in Shannon’s mind as if they had been thumb-tacked. If they were true, the guy was even more dangerous than she had first thought and that idea sent another potent surge through her. “How is it you know him so well?”

“I just do.”

As Shannon puzzled over that non-answer, the beautiful couple and the short man were joined by a slender middle-aged woman. She, too, was tall, with silver shoulder-length hair and draped in silver lame that fell to the tops of silver cowboy boots. She wore chunky Southwest style jewelry. Boots and turquoise were not choices Shannon would have worn with that particular dress, but the look had an old-world panache and screamed I’m-from-Texas-and-proud-of-it.

“And there’s his mommy,” Jordan said snidely. “He’s a mama’s boy.”

Shannon gave Jordan a look. “You really don’t like him, do you?”

“Like I said. He’s an asshole.”

The silver-haired woman and the blonde moved away together, but Drake continued in conversation with the shorter man, seemingly unaware that half the women in the room must surely be drooling over him. Then, he raised his head and for absolutely no reason, turned Shannon’s way. His eyes locked on her for the briefest moment and her heartbeat stuttered. His gaze moved over her and though the whole thing happened in a matter of seconds, Shannon felt as if she had been undressed and thoroughly examined and her whole body grew warm. She turned quickly toward a server and exchanged her empty champagne glass for a full one.

Besides THE TYCOON, I’m starting work on formatting THE LOVE OF A LAWMAN. (This is the original print cover.) I’m getting more proficient at this, so hopefully, I’ll be able to do it a little faster. LAWMAN first came out in print in 2005. I can’t believe it was that long ago. How time flies when you’re having fun.

I say that, but then I get a couple of readers posting on Amazon about all of the mistakes in THE LOVE OF A STRANGER. So I’m also going back through *that* book to see what went wrong there.

Mistakes are very bad. I hate them. I dislike them enough in books I read by other authors, but I absolutely abhor them in books I write myself. <huge sigh>

I offered THE LOVE OF A STRANGER free in the Kindle Book Store a couple of weeks ago. Had very good results, IMHO, and a lot of downloads. It climbed to #3 on the Top 100 Free Books in the Kindle store. Hopefully, Anna Jeffrey found some new readers.

Last, I just want to say that I know you probably grow weary of my comments about writing and what I’m doing with it, but now that I’m my own promoter, I can’t let it slide. Just have to keep blatting about what I’m doing.

I wish I had the time to post on other authors’ blogs, but I just don’t.  So far, the only one I post on is THE NAKED HERO the 2nd Tuesday of every month. In April, I posted about heroes to laugh at, who were Buddy Overstreet and Vic Martin from the Dixie Cash books. What’s not to like about those two guys? Tall, dark and handsome and tall, bald and tough. LOL

And speaking of Dixie Cash, my sister and I are underway with the next Dixie Cash book. No official title yet, but when I took the poll on this blog, the title most people seemed to like was “You Can Have My Heart, but Don’t Touch the Dog.”  …..  It’s already emerging as a very funny story.

Oh, and one more thing. I’ll be offering THE LOVE OF A STRANGER free again in the Kindle store on May 14th and 15th. The link will take you to the page. Hopefully, by then, I will have found the errors and fixed them. So if you would like to read STRANGER, there’s an opportunity to get it free for your Kindle or your computer.  …..  If you have an iPad, an iPod or an iPhone and have the Amazon app downloaded, you can get it there, too.

2 Comments

Filed under Books and Publishing, Writing

2 responses to “HECTIC, HECTIC, HECTIC…

  1. I can’t wait for the next Dixie Cash book— I get them the first day they’re in the store! They always make me laugh out loud and everyone want to know what is so funny…. I’ve hooked my daughters on them, too….

    Like

Leave a Reply

