Sin!…The Sweet Kind

As you food lovers might know, the great Paula Deene has a line of desserts that’s sold in grocery store bakeries. So a while back, I was lost and wandering through a bakery and I happened across Paula Deene’s Gooey Butter Cake. Two little slices were packaged in an acetate container and the cost was a little more than $3.00. Didn’t seem like a bad price to me, so I bought a container.

Gooey Butter Cake

Well, what can I say? As it turned out, it was a mouth-watering, larruping delicious confection and I ate the whooooole thing. Did I say rich?

So, as I often do when it comes to cooking, I think, “I can make that.”

I start researching recipes.  I  learn that this cake was introduced in St. Louis and is apparently of German origin. Well, of course it is. German food is just good. Wasn’t it German cooking that gave us PIE?

I also discover that Paula Deene is by no means the only person who makes Gooey Butter Cake. Many people have recipes and they range from pumpkin to chocolate to toffee to caramel. A plethora of mouth-watering, pound-adding richness.

So not wanting to live in sin alone, I’m sharing a recipe for a simple, basic Gooey Butter Cake. This isn’t exactly any particular person’s recipe. It’s one I sort of put together from several recipes. It looks good to me and should be fairly easy. I haven’t tried it yet, but I’m going to. I’m willing to give a full report next week and if you like, you might do the same. If you want to know how to bake the various flavors, the recipes are easy to find on the Internet. Here you go, everyone:

GOOEY BUTTER CAKE
Preheat oven to 350-degrees
Mix together 1 box  yellow cake mix, 2 eggs, 8 tbsp. butter, melted and press into a 13″ x 9″ baking pan.
In a large bowl, beat 8 oz. cream cheese until smooth. Add 2 eggs and 1 tsp. vanilla. Continue beating until smooth.
Gradually add 16 oz. powdered sugar (I think this is 2 cups) and beat well.
Slowly add 1/2 cup butter, melted, and mix well.
Pour evenly over cake mixture that you’ve pressed into the 13″ x9″ pan.
Bake for 40 to 50 minutes, until center is slightly set.

If any of you have a recipe for Gooey Butter Cake that is different from this one, by all means, share it with us. We can all suffer together.

I should add that my sojourn through bakeries wasn’t over. Just last night, I was wandering again and a Paula Deene’s Carrot Cake just jumped out and said “Take me!”

Get thee behind me, Satan!

Now I would walk over hot coals for carrot cake. But I know that if I just have to have it, I can make it. I have many times. In fact, I have about 20 recipes and all of them are good. So I resisted that temptation to sin and didn’t buy it. I was exceedingly proud of myself.

Gooey Butter Cake is my focus for now. After I make it, I’ll see if I can resist it and thereby, force my husband to eat it. <grin>  He would do that just to get it out of my sight.

All I can say for you, Paula Deene, is with only two little slices, you’ve created a monster. The devil is bound to get you!

Anna J

8 Comments

Filed under Food and Recipes

8 responses to “Sin!…The Sweet Kind

  1. EVIL LADY! i think my arteries blocked up just reading the recipe! so we’ll that one pass. HOWEVER, carrot cake i have convinced myself is healthy and nutritious what with all the carrots. if i was a weight watcher, i could count it a 1 veg (carrots), 1 fruit (pineapple), and a bread (flour). all you would miss is a protein…wait…if it has an egg, that would be a protein! butter or oil would be a fat….see, it’s a whole meal…gotta be healthy for you! what, you want cream cheese dressing on that…that will be one dairy!

    Like

  2. Jan Blackwell

    Just thinking if it ain’t got chocolate is it worth the calories?
    My daughter had a carrot cake wedding cake. Mummm good!
    Janilou

    Like

  3. Anna, you rascal you! I don’t need to round out my already round figure any further. LOL Carrot cake and Italian Cream are my favorites, but I never make them unless we have guests. Too much temptations.

    Like

    • Hi, Caroline…
      We might have to have carrot cake for the holidays this year. I keep hearing we’re going to have a shortage of pumpkin. Of course we could always use butternut squash, I guess. People tell me that’s what’s really in the cans that say pumpkin. Whatever we use, I really don’t need any of it. but I have no will power.
      Anna J

      Like

  4. Donna

    I to have had Paula Deene’s Gooey Butter Cake. It was soooo good!
    I did not have a recipe, so thanks for this one.

    Like

    • Hi, Donna,
      I intended to make that recipe by today so I could tell everyone how it turned out. But I didn’t get around to it. Now it will have to wait until next week. But at least I won’t feel compelled to buy it already made. I already have the ingredients on hand and I can force myself to wait. LOL

      Like

Leave a Reply

