Blogging Tomorrow…

You might notice I’ve changed the name of the blog.Hopefully, this one will work out better.

Tomorrow I’ll be blogging at Sweethearts of the West. Here’s the address: http://sweetheartsofthewest.blogspot.com/

“Cookin’ and Eatin’ in the Olden Days” is the name of my post. I’m making a short comment on something Nellie Witt Spikes wrote in “As a Farm Woman Thinks.” I would almost swear that woman sneaked into my grandmother’s and great-grandmother’s houses and spied on them, except I know that what she wrote was how life was with everyone in West Texas. Until the oil boom, things in that part of the world progressed at a slightly different pace from say, life in Dallas or Houston.

Cooking has always interested me. I’m a frequent visitor to the Food Network online and I watch many of the cooking shows on TV when my husband is out of the house. He equates watching those shows with watching paint dry. That’s a curious thing to me because he does like to eat. I can’t recall how or when I first developed the interest in food preparation except to say that I learned how to cook at a young age, then took a few classes on cooking this and that throughout my life. Let’s face it. We all have to eat. And one look at me tells you I’ve eaten pretty well. As you who’ve read my books know, I often include scenes related to food and cooking in my stories. In fact, the heroine in “Sweet Water” managed her mother’s cafe.

So drop by Sweethearts of the West if you have a moment and read an interesting piece of trivia about how eating used to be. No fast food, no frozen dinners, no pre-prepared skillet meals to which you just add water. Imagine how different your life would be if you had to depend entirely on your ability, or someone else’s, to garden and preserve food. Or if you had to raise your own chickens or steers or hogs for meat, all of which my grandparents did. And maybe yours, too. Nowadays, all of that is a scary thought to me. I cringe when I think of something destructive happening to the trucking industry that hauls our food from Point A to Point B.

Though I grew up with gardening going on all around me, I really don’t know how to be successful at it. My pathetic attempts at tomatoes and green peppers and a few onions show me that I would flat starve to death if I had to grow my own food. For instance, my husband and I bought a green pepper plant in a pot. The plant grew to be more than three feet high and had blooms all over. I argued that some of the blooms should have been pulled off, but he didn’t pluck them. Finally, baby peppers appeared and that’s what they remained–baby peppers. I have one in my refrigerator right now that’s the size of a golf ball. It’s green, it has the right shape, but it’s a poor excuse for a green pepper. And I haven’t had the nerve to taste it.

How about you? Are you a gardener and a food preserver? Will you be able to survive if the trucking industry collapses?

Anna

7 Comments

Filed under Food and Recipes

7 responses to “Blogging Tomorrow…

  1. Nice post Anna,
    We’re in a remote rural location on acreage so we could grow all our own food and even get the mobile butcher around to fill the freezer with organic meat – but fact is the kids would all become vegetarian if they saw slaughter. There’s so many farmers markets around that we tend to buy most of our food and grow salad stuff thru warmer months. We have an orchard so we probably would be okay with a Truckers strike, for a few months anyway,

    Like

  2. Oh my, I remember my grandfather wringing the necks of the chickens, then watching these headless things running around (and, it seemed, headed straight for me). Or when one of the hogs got loose, and no amount of cajoling would get it to get back in it’s pen, so when the rest of us went to church, one of my cousins shot, killed and cleaned it. We learned at an early age not to name anything we had to eat. Thank HEAVENS, my meat comes from the grocery store because I know that I’d never be able to butcher it myself! As far as growing things, I refuse to grow tomatos after seeing tomato worms (bleah! Even thinking about it gives me shivers down my spine!). However, I have basil, pequin peppers, three different kinds of mint and habenero peppers…all doing quite well. I enjoy the local farmers’ markets for the rest of my produce — quite spoiled living in Central California where everything seems to grow.

    Like

  3. Caroline Clemmons

    Love the blog title. I’ll be sure to read your post on Sweethearts tomorrow.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Forced to Give Up Food… | Anna Jeffrey: I'm Just Saying…

Leave a Reply

